Home

Thomas Joshua Cooper

So, I came across Cooper and when I read the first line of his little section in the book, I was completely unimpressed. He photographs the sea? Like, oh.. cool. The damn sea. It just seemed really cliche’ and I almost immediately picked someone else because I had a feeling it was just going to piss me off reading about someone who just takes pictures of water all the time. BUT- I kept reading and realized that there’s a lot more to his work than just thinking the ocean is pretty and taking pictures of it. He pulls from all different resources to create his work- he studies history, geography, climate, and mythology to commemorate events related to the sea. The photographs instantly became more interesting to me. 

Leave a Reply

