Home

551369_10152721700000234_1610397470_n

For the motel installation, I really wanted to create a piece that would give the room-which was just a standard hotel room, not unlike any other- a homey, familiar feel. I think that kitschy, homey furnishings are something that we can all relate to- whether it makes us think of our grandparents’ house, our parent’s house, whatever- It’s something that I think everyone has some sort of emotional tie to, and I wanted to create something that would evoke this emotions in a room that would typically have no other personal touches to it. In addition to that- I wanted to give it a slight touch of what I’ve been working on outside of installation class- so I sewed on one of my prints, to give it that familiar pretty-but-not-so-pretty feel that my work typically has.

Leave a Reply

